USS Midway and the Boyz

 Family Adventure

I had the opportunity to spend some quality time with my brother, nephew, and my nephew’s friend in San Diego at the USS Midway.  It was a special day for me because it’s the first time for me to see my nephew in over ten years, and now he’s nearly all grown up.  The advertisement says that it’s a family adventure.  I”m just glad we were able to get in and out of this adventure in less than 2 hours.  I’m not saying that the tour of this museum, which is actually an air craft carrier, is not worth seeing.  It’s worth every penny, I’m just not one for staying in one place for too long.  The admission price is a mere $18 for adults and $10 for youngsters.  There are student and senior discounts, and active military is free.  My brother is a naval officer and was able to explain in detail the entire ship.  I could see the excitement in the young boys’ faces as my brother proudly inundated them with air craft carrier promulgations.   My Words Falling on Deaf Ears. 

I, on the other hand, was busy having a conversation with a few of the navy men standing on deck.  I must have talked to them for 45 minutes straight.  I wanted to know what it takes to become a pilot in the navy.  I asked these men a myriad of questions, but they completely ignored me.  They’re sort of like the guards at Buckingham Palace; they don’t move and they certainly don’t talk.  I found out later that they have been instructed not to talk to the visitors unless they are wearing pants.  I’ll have to remember that for the next time.

We walked around the inside of the carrier and got to see a few bunks; pretty tight sleeping quarters (sorry no pics, too small to fit in the camera).  Then we moved to the outside and walked around the top of the carrier.  We saw a bunch of planes that I have so aptly named “f’ somethings”.    This might have been the “f’ something” 205.  There was this extremely courteous old geezer walking in our vicinity.  He looked rather bored, so we asked him if he could explain to us a little bit about this plane.  He rattled off all sorts of useless information like, it shoots 7 billion rounds/sec and it can go mach 7 even when it’s wings have been shot off.  He went on and on, and because he was so old, we listened and genuinely pretended to be interested.  In all fairness, he was informative and useful in getting all four of us in the same shot.  Thanks old geezer.    

Oh yeah, I forgot.  Before we entered onto the flight deck, we were somewhere in the middle.   We got to see a bunch of motors, planes, refueling stations and even a general store, where you can buy the movie “Top Gun” and a whole bunch of other cool navy gadgets and paraphernalia.  Right before going into the store, I stood on a glass floor and took an amazing shot of my feet.  I’ve always wondered what my feet would look like on the internet.   

Before entering the USS Midway, we hung outside together with our good friend Admiral Sprague.  There was really nothing else to take a picture of so we decided to take a picture of this guy.  Unfortunately there were no old geezers anxiously standing around to rattle off useless facts about this defunct hero, so my brother was not able to get into this shot.  I had a wonderful time wandering around with my nephew, his friend, as well as my brother on and around the USS Midway in San Diego.    Thanks boyz!

 There are no hyperlinks in this post.  You can click on the pictures to get a better view.  I added green to some of the text to add contrast and help explain the pictures, but they are not links.

    

 

About slimpundit

I am originally from Arizona. I went to South Korea and stayed there for a number of years. I moved back to the states in 2009. It's good to be home. I am currently a student studying web design. You can contact me at: digital_velocity@hotmail.com Stanley Stealth
This entry was posted in Family, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

